Teacher's Pet is loading, hang tight!

If you liked the film…

August 17th| Christina Loftus

In this new series of blog posts, I’ll be sharing lots of simple ideas that I’ve discovered across the web, that you can use in your classroom.

I’ve never been one for over complicated displays. If you’ve downloaded any of our content or been a regular visitor to our Facebook page, you’ll know how excited I get about simple concepts that can transform the look of a classroom and inspire the children, without breaking the bank or spending 12 hours to create and this display is no exception…


If you liked the film, you’ll love the book!

With my ‘back to school’ head on (I know that’s a dirty word but sadly, us resource creators have to start planning it in July!), I’ve started thinking about how to inspire reading this school year – our current reading resources are still some of our most popular content on our website but there is always room for more great Teacher’s Pet reading resources.

Anyway, I came across this idea, which instantly caught my eye.

If you’re looking for a quick and simple way to get your children reading this September, after 6 weeks of watching Netflix then take a look at this…

How cool is the real popcorn border? If you’re looking for something a little less tempting for the children to eat, try white and yellow tissue paper scrunched up, it’s just as effective but not as tasty 🙁

You could even tie this in with our range of Poppin’ Punctuation resources!


Bookflix

The reader friendly version of Netflix, called Bookflix, is really taking off at the moment as a concept used in schools. If you don’t have the display space then this could be a great alternative for you.

Here’s a free version I found online of a powerpoint you can add your own texts to so you can load it onto your interactive whiteboard.

Sadly, most children have probably spent a lot of their Summer glued to the screen so now it’s time to get them excited about all the amazing children’s books that have been released this year…Like…


This was only supposed to be a little ideas post but I seem to have gotten carried away. Hopefully, it’s given you a few ideas anyway…

How are you getting your class excited for reading this new school year?
I’d love to read some of your ideas in the comments below! If you have photos too then even better – just pop us an email or visit our Facebook page. If we love your idea, we might even share it or write a blog about it!

View all posts by: Christina Loftus
Categories: Classroom Environment

Add a comment:

How can we help?

Welcome to the all new and improved Teacher's Pet!

Explore the new features!

Thanks for downloading!

(Pre-download ads are only shown to members on our 'FREE' membership package!)

VIEW MEMBERSHIP PACKAGES

Or, simply close this box to start your download.
(Close button will appear in the top right after 5 seconds)